跳到主要內容區塊
Your Cart

Toucheng Journey

Toucheng was the first stop for Wu Sha to enter Lanyang and explore the land, and is known as "the first city in Lanyang". At that time, Wu Sha built a city in the south of Wushi Harbor, which was originally called Toucheng, later renamed as Touwei, and then changed back to Toucheng after the restoration of Taiwan. Walking into Toucheng, a quiet and peaceful town, you can immerse yourself in the unique scenery and profound culture, and at the same time, appreciate the rich natural ecology, look for beautiful scenery and cultural treasures, and feel the beautiful moments and unforgettable experiences.

 

Natural Environment

Pearl of the Sea~Guishan Island

"Guishan Sunrise" is one of the Eight Scenic Spots of Lanyang County, Yilan County. On certain days before and after the summer solstice, the sun rises near the head of the tortoise on Guishan Island and blooms with magnificent rays of light, making it the most fascinating of the Eight Scenic Spots of Lanyang County. Guishan Island is surrounded by unique scenery, and large numbers of whales and dolphins can often be seen in the nearby waters. Among the Eight Scenic Spots of Lanyang, there are also other scenic spots, such as the sulfurous smoke of Guishan Island, the wall of Turtle Rock, the wonders of Guishan, the swinging of a sacred turtle, the sacred turtle wearing a hat, the stalactites at the Yanjing Cave, and the upwelling of underwater hot springs, etc., which have attracted a large number of visitors to come here to enjoy the scenic spots.

Address: Toucheng Township, Yilan County, about 10 km east of the coast.

Cultural Heritage

Toucheng Shisanhang, Ancient Mansion of Kang's Family

The ancient mansion of Kang's family in Toucheng Shisanhang has a history of about 200 years. It is a series of 13 houses, which were used as a harbor and storage area for foreign trade during the Qing Dynasty. Three of the old houses, known as the "Kang's", are designated as monuments by the county government. The partitions inside the houses are as thick as 60 centimeters, and the door openings are very narrow, probably for burglary prevention at that time. The house features a wooden body and a stone foundation, and is especially famous for its use of "ballast stone" as a building material. These architectural remnants bear witness to the history of the former shipping trade, and demonstrate the ancient architectural style and cultural heritage.

Address: No. 142, Heping Street, Toucheng Township, Yilan County, Taiwan

Religion

Qingyuan Temple

Qingyuan Temple is an ancient A-Ma Temple located on Toucheng Old Street. Named after the first year of the Jiaqing reign (1796), it represents an important moment in the history of Yilan's Han migration. Although it has undergone restoration, it still retains a large number of antiquities from the Qing Dynasty, especially the impressive stone architecture. Brick and wooden structures were commonly used for temples in Yilan during the Qing Dynasty, but the front hall floor of Qingyuan Temple is made of stone, which is even more precious. The couplets on the stone pillars of the front hall often refer to the waters of Wushi Harbor in front of the temple, which has now become a historical landmark that links Toucheng Old Street to the ruins of Wushi Harbor, perpetuating people's admiration and reverence for the sea.

Address: No. 105, Heping Street, Toucheng Township, Yilan County, Taiwan.

 

Toucheng Kaicheng Temple

Toucheng Kaicheng Temple, honored as the first ancient temple in Yilan, is dedicated to the black-faced and golden-bodied Guanyin Buddha, which is said to have been brought by Wu Sha and other ancestors in 1796, and carries the significance of the Han migration of Yilan people in its long history. The temple was rebuilt in 1864 after being destroyed by a flood, and the present-day Kaicheng Temple was remodeled in 1988, with different levels of temple spaces such as an activity center, the Chenghuang (City God) Temple, and the Kaicheng Temple. Every year in the seventh month of the lunar calendar, the Ghost Festival (Zhongyuan Festival) is one of the grand events of Toucheng ghost grappling, which demonstrates its cultural and religious values.

Address: No. 1, Jixiang Road, Toucheng Township, Yilan County, Taiwan

Toucheng was the first stop for Wu Sha to enter Lanyang and explore the land, and is known as "the first city in Lanyang". At that time, Wu Sha built a city in the south of Wushi Harbor, which was originally called Toucheng, later renamed as Touwei, and then changed back to Toucheng after the restoration of Taiwan. Walking into Toucheng, a quiet and peaceful town, you can immerse yourself in the unique scenery and profound culture, and at the same time, appreciate the rich natural ecology, look for beautiful scenery and cultural treasures, and feel the beautiful moments and unforgettable experiences.